Anthrax is an American thrash metal band from New York City, formed in 1981 by guitarist Scott Ian and bassist Dan Lilker. The group was considered one of the leaders of the thrash metal scene during the 1980s. Of the “Big Four” thrash metal bands (the others being Metallica, Megadeth and Slayer), Anthrax were the only band from the East Coast. As of 2016, the band has released eleven studio albums, a number of singles and a single with American hip hop group Public Enemy. According to Nielsen SoundScan, Anthrax sold 2.5┬ámillion records in the United States from 1991 to 2004, with worldwide sales of 10 million.

Noted for its live performances, Anthrax signed with the independent label Megaforce Records (which released the band’s debut studio album in 1984). Lilker soon left the band to form Nuclear Assault, and was replaced by roadie Frank Bello. Vocalist Neil Turbin was replaced after two years by Matt Fallon who was then subsequently replaced in 1985 by Joey Belladonna. With a new lineup, the band recorded Spreading the Disease(distributed by Island Records) in 1985. Anthrax’s third album, Among the Living, was released in 1987 to critical praise. The band experienced another lineup change in 1992, when John Bush replaced Belladonna as lead vocalist. Sound of White Noise was released the following year, peaking at number seven on the Billboard 200. Studio recordings during the 1990s saw the band, influenced by other genres, experimenting with its sound.

Related Songs



Fistful of Metal

  • Released: January 1984
  • Label: Megaforce


Spreading the Disease

  • Released: October, 1985
  • Label: Megaforce/Island


Among the Living

  • Released: March 22, 1987
  • Label: Megaforce/Island


State of Euphoria

  • Released: September 18, 1988
  • Label: Megaforce/Island


Persistence of Time

  • Released: August 21, 1990
  • Label: Megaforce/Island


Persistence of Time

  • Released: May 25, 1993
  • Label: Elektra


Stomp 442

  • Released: October 24, 1995
  • Label: Elektra


Volume 8, The Threat is Real

  • Released: July 21, 1998
  • Label: Ignition


We’ve Come For You All

  • Released: May 6, 2003
  • Label: Sanctuary


Worship Music

  • Released: September 13, 2011
  • Label: Megaforce


For All Kings

  • Released: February 26, 2016
  • Label: Megaforce

Sponsored Video


You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.